Running pace

Mac_t1lt

Reaction score
I think my biggest problem with training is not having a reference or idea to what pace i should be running at.
could someone tell me what time i should complete the distance in

Low work rate

2 mile - time*
3 mile -
4 mile -
5 mile -
Etc

Medium work rate

2 mile - time*
3 mile
Etc

high work rate
2 mile
Etc
In this sort of format

cheers
Just from my point of view as obviously training to reach the same standard, there’s lads on here who could break it down far better but il drop my 2pence anyway.

look to get as close to 6minute miles as possible.
1mile - 6minutes (preferably under)
2miles - 13minutes (or under)
3miles / 5k - 20minutes (or under)
4miles - 28minutes (or under)
10k - 40 mins (or under)

To run faster shorter distances you need to run longer distances slower. I’m not a professional I can only go by what I’ve learnt / been told myself. Its all about consistency and anyone can do it, I’m far from mega fit, but I think I’ve done well all things considered.

An example - Nov2019 I couldn’t finish a mile, just ran short 0.7mile bursts. Ran first ever 5k on Dec25 2019 in 28 minutes. Once I was able to complete said distance I was doing it 3 times a week, knocking off anywhere between 30secs to a minute on every 3rd/4th run. Once I was around the 24-26min 5k mark i started running about 6 times a week, sometimes running 2 5ks a day, whilst doing a 2km best effort once every 2 weeks. Essentially mate - just run structured - and fcking mean it. Hydrate rest and eat well think positively and believe you can do it and it’ll get done.
To simplify-

if you run 5 times a week, do 4 runs at a 7/8 min mile pace, on the last run go for a 6:30 pace (or under) and hold that for as long as possible. Rinse and repeat.